Baan Dek

Scilla Huber

 

Q: Can you tell us a little bit more about yourself? Your background, your interests, your dreams?

I am the third and last born in my primary family.. I have lived on the East Coast, West Coast, Rocky Mountain front range, and the prairie of the USA. I have also lived and taught in Japan and Cyprus as an international teacher.

I dream to have a peaceful, calm life.

Q: How were you first introduced to Montessori?

I was first introduced to Montessori during my Early Childhood Education classes at the very beginning of my teaching career.

Q: What was it about Montessori that resonated with you?

I love many aspects of the Montessori method but I would have to say that what appeals to me the most is the multi-age classrooms. The benefits of multi-age classrooms are numerous and glaring. I particularly love that children have the opportunity to experience and practice the different roles of the youngest, middle, and oldest child as they progress through their years in the program. This is something they cannot do in their family unit. It gives the child the chance to see how those different roles make a difference in their role within the community and give them the opportunity to sometimes teach others. It’s fantastic.

Q: What brought you to Baan Dek?

My parents have recently taken up residence here in Sioux Falls while I was away in Cyprus. I’ve been wanting to immerse myself in the Montessori method. It came time for me to find a new job, and then I found Baan Dek Montessori.

Q: What is your favorite part of your day at Baan Dek?

Greeting my happy co-workers and children in the morning.

Q: What is your favorite life quote?

“Remember to breathe.” — every Yoga teacher everywhere

Q: What are your favorite colors?

Blue and Green

Q: How do you like to spend your free time?

I enjoy learning new skills. The current WIP (work in progress) is EPP (English Paper Piecing.) I like the scrap hexagon mosaic the best.

Q: What is your favorite animal and why?

I have two favorite animals, they are my two cats named Rose and Sally.

Q: What’s a fun fact about your life?

I learned how to ice skate and play ice hockey when I was 36 years old.

Inquire Now

Schedule a time to meet

Montessori Zine

Subscribe to our bi-monthly digital Montessori zine. Every other week, you will receive a brief, curated email with links to popular and trending interviews, commentaries, spotlights, quotes and photos.